4th of July treat

If you like smoothies there is a “patriotic” smoothie which is well known. It’s called a Red, White, and Blue smoothie, can you guess what its made of?

  • strawberry
  • banana
  • blueberries

though I’m sure you could use raspberries as well since they are pink too. 

Though I love making smoothies I have turned my attention to Popsicles  for the month. I was looking for something fruity (obviously) for the Fourth of July and I was already looking at Fourth of July foods on our favorite website Pinterest. And may I just add that it is the best place to go for DIY decorating and celebrating ideas, its great! 

Anyway I should just show you this cute idea that I found and what I did to it lol, don’t worry there are no pictures and no instructions on what I did personally. But I did want to share this recipe with you because you can do so much with it. so here you go.

Blackberry Lime Cheesecake Popsicles

“Ingredients
For the Blackberry Layer:
  • 12 oz fresh blackberries
  • 1 1 /2 tablespoon water
  • Sugar, to taste if berries aren’t sweet enough
For the Cheesecake Layer:
  • 6 oz cream cheese
  • 4 tablespoons milk
  • 2 tablespoons fresh lime juice
  • 1/2 teaspoon lime zest, optional – if desired
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar
Instructions
  1. Add the blackberries and water to a medium saucepan. Cook over medium heat, stirring periodically, for about 10 – 15 minutes, or until they are easily broken with a wooden spoon. Taste and add sugar to sweeten if needed. Stir sugar in and cook until dissolved.
  2. Pour the berry mixture into a powerful blender, such as a Blendtec, and puree until very smooth. I ran the “whole juice” pre-programmed functioin on my blender. After blended, cover and refrigerate the blackberry puree until cool, at least 30 minutes.
  3. While the blackberry mixture refrigerates, beat the cream cheese, milk, lime juice, zest (if using), vanilla, and sugar using a hand mixer or puree with a small food chopper until smooth. Set aside in the refrigerator until blackberry mixture has cooled.
  4. To assemble popsicles, layer the blackberry puree and cream cheese mixture in popsicle molds. Place popsicle sticks in the center and freeze until solid.
  5. If necessary, run hot water over the outside of the molds to assist in removing the pops before serving.
Notes
A high powered blender will crush the seeds, but if you prefer a completely smooth fruit layer with no bits of seeds then strain the blackberry puree through a fine mesh strainer. Layering Options: We experimented with a couple layering techniques. I preferred #1 with smaller amounts of each layered more frequently, while Eric preferred #3. 1. Cream Cheese, Blackberry, Cream Cheese, Blackberry 2. Blackberry, Cream Cheese, Blackberry 3. Combine the two mixtures and swirl together.   
 
 
 
 
I couldn’t find blackberries so I got strawberries. I cut up about 8 strawberries and didn’t add any sugar. I followed the instructions and got 4 tiny popsicles and tons of left over cheesecake filling. But hey, we learn by doing right?
 
So check that out and try it out, let me know how it went and send me pics, I feel like I’m talking to a wall over here…. I can see you, ya know…. don’t squint at me! 
Leave a Reply

