A Long Post About Something Yummy! With Pictures!!!

So the other day I was looking at other smoothie recipes for my hubby when I came across this really cute looking fruit snack! I took SEVERAL pictures of my process and so here you go!!!! I haven’t picked a name for it yet but I’ll post the link for the snack at the end of the post.

serves 24

Ingredients:

  • 1 large banana ( i used 1 1/2 because i like big chunks)
  • 1 box strawberries
  • 1 can of pineapple chunks (or 1/2 a pineapple)
  • chocolate (for melting)
  • mixed nuts
  • coconut flakes.
  • cookie sheet
  • parchment paper, wax paper, or silicone mat

* prepare a cookie sheet withe parchment paper,wax paper, or a silicone mat. You will need to use this to place the treats on and place in the freezer.

ImageDSCN0836DSCN0837DSCN0840

strawberries, pineapple chunks, bananas          /    dipping chocolate, pecan halves, crushed walnuts/     enlarged image of dipping chocolate          /     coconut flakes

DSCN0839DSCN0838DSCN0836     You can either use Popsicle sticks or use long toothpicks. I was lucky and got long toothpicks. I also could not find a container of crushed mixed nuts for topping so I made my own with small baggies of walnuts and pecans and used my own chopper.

STEP ONE: Cut 12 strawberries into halves

DSCN0834DSCN0842 I went ahead and added the toothpicks in afterwards. I cut the larger strawberries into quarters to make the size smaller.

STEP TWO: Cut one large banana into 24 pieces

I ended up using a medium banana and a half, gave the other half to the dogs.

DSCN0841

STEP THREE: Drain canned pineapple and layer onto toothpicks

DSCN0845DSCN0844 I’m really glad I used canned pineapple, the chunks are a good size and it was a lot faster than trying to figure out how to cut a pineapple open. The pattern is Strawberry, banana, pineapple. be careful when picking them up because the strawberry is very soft and slides on the toothpick. Also watch out for the fruit separating on the stick, you need them nice and firm against each other.

STEP FOUR:  Place tray with the snacks on it into the freezer until they are frozen solid.

Untitledhere I show you that I put the tray in the freezer. I had to highlight it because of all the stuff in that freezer. Obviously I did this at my mom’s house. I would go through all that food in a heartbeat!

* a In-Between step*

If you need to chop up your own nuts like I had to do then follow these instructions while your treats are freezing.

  • take your chopper and fill it with the walnuts and then chop to an almost fine powder
  • put the crushed walnuts in a container and then add the pecans to the chopper and then chop the pecans into tiny pieces, they wont ground into a powder but you want to make sure you’re not going to have large chunks.
  • mix the pecans and walnuts together in the container and then you have mixed nuts!!!! you can always add in your own nuts like pistachios, peanuts, ect.

DSCN0848  TAD-DA!

* also go ahead and put your coconut flakes in a small container as well.

STEP FIVE: Melting Chocolate

you can use any kind of chocolate you want for melting. I almost bought a bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips because that is what my mother always used but they have these cute little containers now with chocolate discs that you can use for dipping.

DSCN0837 there are instructions on the container for melting. remove lid and seal then place in microwave onto of a microwavable plate and then heat for 30 seconds. Remove container and stir (it wont usually be melted the first time) If it is still slightly melted discs then put it back in the microwave for another 30 seconds and then stir, it should be completely melted by then but stirring will help melt any chunks still in there.

STEP SIX: Remove frozen treats and dip!

to make sure your treats are frozen well enough check to see how hard the BANANA is. it is very important that the banana be frozen well enough because if it thaws out it will taste terrible! after you make sure the fruit is frozen and will not be separating when you move lift them it is okay to dip!

* do not place the chocolate side of the fruit onto the wax paper. I personally don’t want to try to separate it from the parchment paper.*

I tilted the container of melted chocolate and dipped the SIDE of the treats instead of dipping into the chocolate completely.

for nuts * I dipped the fruit then took a small bit of nuts and sprinkled them over the chocolate (while keeping the treat OVER the nut container to minimize making a mess)

for coconut flakes * I dipped the fruit and then held it over the coconut container while I topped it with the flakes to minimize making a mess.

DSCN0851DSCN0850DSCN0849they look like chocolate dipped mushroom!

STEP SEVER: Replace tray into freezer and wait (if you can!)

to make sure the chocolate is completely hardened place the tray of dipped fruit into the freezer for a little while. They can be served frozen or at room temp. I still prefer for them not to thaw out due to odd taste of bananas.

ENJOY!!!! I told you this would be a long post!

If you would like to make all three and in equal numbers here is what I did: 8 nuts, 8 coconut, 8 regular dipped.

Try it with sprinkles for a kid’s birthday party, or even decorate it with drizzled white chocolate lines over it like what you see on dipped strawberries! Now that would be cute!!!!!!!

Let me know if you try it and how you liked it!  send pics too!!!!!

Leave a Reply

